Anhinga Press

There are presently no open calls for submissions.

Contest Rules

The award is open to all poets 

The winner will receive $2000 and publication by Anhinga Press.

regardless of the number of books published. Entries must be original poetry in English. Poems previously published in journals and anthologies should be accompanied by an acknowledgments page. Authors may submit multiple manuscripts if each one is accompanied by the reading fee. Previously submitted manuscripts and manuscripts under consideration by other publishers are also eligible. Should your manuscript be accepted by another press, please notify us as soon as possible.

  • Each submission must be accompanied by a $28 reading fee. 

If you prefer to send your submission by post then the fee is $25. Please send Manuscripts to: Anhinga Prize for Poetry
PO Box 3665
Tallahassee, FL 32315

Do not put your name on your manuscript. For Word or PDF documents please leave your name off the submitted MS. Your name will be attached to the submission when you submit, but the document shouldn't have your name. Only a title page. 

If submitting by mail, please include two cover pages, one with the title of your manuscript as well as your name, address, email address, and phone number, and one title page with only the MS title.
Manuscripts must be 48-100 pages, excluding front matter. Single spaced submissions are preferred for poetry MS.

For contest results please see our website. Please do not send SASE for results.
Submissions will be accepted from February 15 until May 31 (postmark).
Manuscripts will not be returned. Please keep copies of your work. Please do not use a form of mail delivery which requires a signature by the addressee.
The Prize is open to all poets writing in English.

The Anhinga Prize for Poetry has been offered annually since 1983 for a manuscript of original poetry in English.

The competition is open to writers from all regions. 

Contest manuscripts are screened by qualified readers appointed by the Press. Past judges include, Robert Dana, Allison Joseph, Diane Wakoski, Naomi Shihab Nye, Brian Turner, Denise Duhamel, Maureen Seaton, and Evie Shockley. Past winners of the Prize include Judith Kitchen, Janet Holmes, Ken Hart, Rhett Iseman Trull, Erika Meitner, Anna Ross, Bethany Schultz Hurst, Robin Beth Schaer and Elizabeth A.I. Powell         


Contest results are announced in November on our website and published inPoets & Writers, The Writers' Chronicle, New Pages, and other writer's magazines. The winning book is usually published about one year after its selection.

Anhinga Press subscribes to the principles laid out in the Contest Code of Ethics adopted by the Council of Literary Magazines and Presses (CLMP):

CLMP's community of independent literary publishers believes that ethical contests serve our shared goal: to connect writers and readers by publishing exceptional writing. We believe that intent to act ethically, clarity of guidelines, and transparency of process form the foundation of an ethical contest. To that end, we agree:
  1. to conduct our contests as ethically as possible and to address any unethical behavior on the part of our readers, judges, or editors;
  2. to provide clear and specific contest guidelines -- defining conflict of interest for all parties involved; and
  3. to make the mechanics of our selection process available to the public.

This Code recognizes that different contest models produce different results, but that each model can be run ethically. We have adopted this Code to reinforce our integrity and dedication as a publishing community and to ensure that our contests contribute to a vibrant literary heritage.

Anhinga Press